Đuro Njavro

Founder and the dean of Zagreb School of Economics and Management (ZSEM). Received his master’s and doctoral degrees from the Faculty of Economics and Business of the University of Zagreb, where he also worked as a lecturer. At the same time, he performed social and political functions as the advisor to the President of the Republic of Croatia for economic issues, and he also served as the head of the Institute of Economics in Zagreb. He served two terms as the chairman and deputy chairman of the Committee for Finance and State Budget of the Croatian Parliament, thus significantly contributing to solving important political, economic, legal and social problems in Croatia, especially by his activities in the area of setting up the system of the state finance and creating appropriate budgetary policy. He is the author of the Act on the Fund for the state-subsidized long-term financing of the housing construction and the Act on Housing Savings and State Incentive to Housing Savings.

He was the editor-in-chief and translator of many publications in the field of economics and entrepreneurship. He has a rich experience in teaching at colleges and universities in Croatia and abroad. He participated in numerous scientific and professional conferences and authored more than 40 scientific articles and books. A certain number of his papers focuses on development of best practices in teaching economics in periods of great changes caused by development of communication technologies, Internet and artificial intelligence. In his papers he studies economic aspects of contemporary development of information technologies and analyzes their influence on the factors of the economic development.

He is a member of several international associations in the area of economics and education such as AEA (American Economics Association) and the Academic Senate of Marketers Guild of the Russian Federation. He is a member of the European Advisory Council of AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). He is a co-founder of Luxembourg School of Business in Luxembourg (LSB) and member of the LSB Advisory Council.